october 22_november 1. 11 days of events suitable for any age and cultural level. The keyword will be Waves.

The keyword "Waves" will make Festival of Science 2020 "the perfect wave", that of maturity, that of the 18 years of the Festival. Gravitational waves from the universe will be the electromagnetic waves that are also light and colours, acoustic waves with their sounds, brain waves for our dreams and emotions. They will be waves in the ocean of art and science that will carry energy and momentum.

Waves talk to us from anywhere in the Universe with colours and gravitational sounds, shake our lives with earthquakes, reveal our beating heart. We use them to study our planet, the Sun, the climate, life in all its forms, to heal us or to listen to Mozart. They guide us in the realm of quantum mechanics, transforming continually from being elements to being waves. In the year of full maturity the Festival will be a wave of lights, colors, art and science which will bring us to the XVIII edition.

Past editions guests Nobel Prize winners

Robert Laughlin, Theodor Haensch, Daniel Kahneman, Torsten Wiesel, Jack Steinberger, David Gross, Luc Montagnier, Riccardo Giacconi, Gehrard Ertl, Kostya Novoselov, Serge Haroche, Martin Chalfie, Erwin Neher, Alessio Figalli (Field Medal)

Top scientists and personalities

Ian Tattersall, Niles Eldredge, Margherita Hack, Michael Nyman, John Barrow, Marc Augé, Semir Zeki, Jean Pierre Changeux, Martin Rees, Benoit B. Mandelbrot, Craig Venter, John Brockman, Peter Greenaway, Fritjof Capra, Edouard Brézin, Arthur Ekert, Robert Trivers, Umberto Eco, Frans Lanting, Robert Cailliau, Philip Glass, Freeman Dyson, Jane Goodall, Marc Hauser, Jean-Marc Lévy-Leblond, Michel Morange, Lawrence Krauss, Hilary Putnam, Nicholas Humphrey, Luigi Luca Cavalli Sforza, Devra Devis, Catherine Vidal, Nigel Tapper, Gabrielle Walker, Kenneth Timmis, James Geary, Catia Bastioli, Elena Cattaneo, Brian Greene, Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Carlo Ratti, Clifford Saron, William Colglazier, Rafael Reif, Michael Chorost, Giovanni Bignami, Edoardo Boncinelli, Graham Farmelo, Daniel Goleman, Nina Jablonski, Robert Kirshner, David Rothenberg, Luca Mercalli, Philippe Drobinski, David Quammen, Olivier Lepick, David Edmonds, Patrick Haggard, Fabiola Gianotti, Eugenia Cheng, Valter Longo, Juan Carlos Belmonte, Marcus Du Sautoy... and many others!